So I finally broke down and decided that I couldn't wear the David's Bridal mermaid dress on my wedding day. I really can't stand it anymore. The more and more I looked at it, the more I disliked it. It just felt too...cheap. So I sold it on ebay, and bought a Maggie Sottero! 
I unintentionally fell in love with Decadence - a brand new gown from Maggie's Fall 2011 lineup. Why was it unintentional? Because I knew that I wouldn't be able to order it (too close to the wedding), nor would I be able to find it used (it's brand new). I fully intended to try on Sabelle, and then buy it used. But lo and behold, the salon I went to had sold their Sabelle sample, and suggested I try on Decadence. 

The moment I saw it on the hanger, I knew it was The One. The sample was in satin, which was very heavy, and terribly hot. Not gonna work in near-summer Texas heat. 
So I went to another salon to try on Sabelle, and try on Decadence in taffeta. I slipped into Sabelle and was underwhelmed. I disliked how the lace inlay was hidden by the masses of taffeta. Then I tried on Decadence and shed a few tears. Oh yeah, this is it. 
But wait, Miss Margarita! What the hell are you thinking? You only have 5 months until your wedding; you can't order this gown. And it's $1,500! How could your budget brain commence to such an expense?

Well. I bought the sample, that's how! The salon was having a no sales tax deal on their Maggie's. On top of that, I got an extra 10% off for buying the sample (which is in perfect condition, since they just got it in 2 months ago). This brought the total down to $1350.

But wait, Miss Margarita! The sample gown is in ivory! And it's 4 sizes too big! Certainly you can't justify the expense of alterations, as well as having to buy a new veil??

Well. This particular bridal salon does not have their own alterations department, allowing me to use whoever I please to preform the alterations. Several local seamstresses have quoted me $150-200 to take in the sides, take up the hem, and add a bustle. The money I saved by buying the sample will go towards alterations. And as for the veil...we'll have to wait and see what to do about that. Maybe I'll buy a new one, maybe I'll dye the one I have. Stay tuned for updates to that.

So, it's CHRISTMAS TIME! Mister Margarita has never celebrated Christmas. Therefore, he has never given me a present. To make up for 4 years of zero presents (this is including birthdays, mind you), he got me a new ring!!!!!
It's from Helzberg Diamonds, one from their Masterpiece collection. I took an out of focus picture on purpose, to capture some of the sparkle. The diamonds in this ring (and the matching wedding band) have extra facets to reflect more light, and therefore give more sparkle. We compared this set (engagement & wedding band) to those with diamonds with less facets (and less expensive), and kept returning to this one. The center diamond is 1/3 carat, and the total carat weight of both bands is around 1 carat. We decided this was perfect for my tiny fingers. A huge rock just looks wrong on such slender fingers.

I currently have a ring guard on it, because we wanted to be able to show it off for Christmas. If we were to get the bands sized right away, we wouldn't have them back until New Year's. We'll get both bands sized at the beginning of the year, when they slow down a little.

Oh yeah, and the reason why I've justified all these new (expensive) expenses is because I've got a new job! I'm so excited about it. I'm now working for AT&T, and making 3X more than I was at Subway, with half the job responsibilities! Lol! It's a very fun job, and I'm so happy to have money in the bank again!

Til next time, Happy Holidays!



Leave a Reply.